History of Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary
The sanctuary was established in 1947 by beekeeper and flower grower Alex Griffiths, who began feeding the region’s wild lorikeets to prevent them from ravaging his prized blooms. The feeding of the colourful lorikeets soon developed from a local curiosity to a popular tourist attraction.
In 1976, the sanctuary was donated to the National Trust of Queensland. The National Trust of Queensland is a like-minded organization dedicated to preserving the state’s natural and cultural heritage. The Trust continues to operate the sanctuary on a not-for-profit basis, with all revenue reinvested back into the park, in conservation-based research, caring for sick and injured wildlife and public education.
Originally known as Currumbin Bird Sanctuary, the park’s name was changed to Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary in 1995 to better reflect the diverse range of animals on display. on 1 July 2014 National Trust of Queensland changed its name to National Trust of Australia (Queensland) and became independent of government. For more information please go to www.nationaltrust.org.au/qld.
While the lorikeets remain a hallmark attraction, every day visitors can see many of Australia’s most amazing wildlife species. With hundreds of native Australian animals on display in natural bush land and rainforest settings, Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary provides a rare opportunity to see and experience our amazing native wildlife.
The sanctuary has attracted millions of visitors throughout its history and continues to provide opportunities to see and interact with Australia’s amazing wildlife.